> the Walloon Region

The Walloon Region is one of the three Regions that make up the Federal Belgian State, the other two being the Flemish Region and the Brussels-Capital Region.

territory - competencies - political institutions - administration


The Walloon region covers the territory of the 5 walloon provinces : Brabant wallon, Hainaut, Liège, Luxembourg and Namur.


The Walloon Region exercises

1) the regional competencies attributed to it by law

2) the community competencies that have been transferred to it by the French Community

1) Those regional competencies essentially are : town and country planning, the environment,  agriculture, housing, public works, transport, regional aspects of the economic policy, foreign trade, employment policy, regional aspects of the energy policy, organisation and supervision of the local authorities, property belonging to the various religious groups, scientific research relating to regional matters, international relations relating to regional matters. (see articles 6 and 6 bis from the law of 8/08/1980)

It must, however, be noted that the Walloon Region has transferred some of its regional competencies to the German-speaking Community for matters concerning the German linguistic region : monuments and sites and employment policy. The transfer of the organisation and supervision of the communes is planned for 2005. These competencies are therefore, or will therefore be, exercised by the Walloon Region only in the French linguistic region.

2 ) Those community competencies transferred by the French Community essentially are : some cultural matters (sports infrastructures, tourism, social promotion and occupational training and redeployment), school transport and nearly all personal matters (health policy except for university hospitals, family policy except for the Child Welfare Authority (ONE), social welfare, integration of immigrants, disabled persons and senior citizens). In this case, the Walloon Region exercises its competencies only in the French linguistic region.

political institutions

The political institutions of the Walloon Region are the Walloon Parliament, and the Walloon Government.

The Walloon Parliament is composed of 75 members, elected every five years by direct universal suffrage.

 The Walloon Parliament essentially exercises two functions:

-         as an instrument of legislative power, it discusses and passes decrees, and can take the initiative to draw them up. Once passed, the decrees are sanctioned and promulgated by the Walloon Government ;

-         as a control body for the executive power, it controls the Walloon government, which it is accountable to it. This control is exercised, in particular, via the vote on budgets and accounts, the vote on motions of confidence or no confidence, parliamentary questions, etc.

The Walloon Parliament elects the members of the Walloon Government, who are not necessarily members of Parliament.

The Walloon Government participates in legislative power and, like the Parliament, it can take the initiative to draw up decrees. As an executive power, it issues the orders necessary for the application of the decrees.

The Walloon Government is accountable to the Walloon Parliament. Both are based in Namur, the capital of the Walloon Region.