> The provinces

Wallonia is made up of 5 provinces: Walloon Brabant, Hainaut, Liège, Luxembourg and Namur.

The provinces have existed since the creation of the Belgian State. Two new provinces, Walloon Brabant and Flemish Brabant, were created following the scission of the Brabant province on 1 January 1995.

competencies - political institutions - administration

Competencies

The provinces exercise a dual function. On the one hand, they are subordinate local authorities, responsible for executing certain decisions made by other authorities. On the other hand, they are autonomous political bodies endowed with their own decision-making powers : they are free to take initiatives providing the matter is not excluded from their competencies by the Constitution, the law or decree. They therefore exercise a series of compulsory responsibilities, which are identical for each Walloon province, and optional responsibilities, which are particular to each province. They exercise these responsibilities in complementarity with those of the Walloon Government and the communes.

The compulsory responsibilities include supervision of the communes for certain matters (essentially budget and accounts, status of officials), candidacies to certain public offices, covering the deficit for the construction and maintenance of cathedrals, establishments responsible for the property of orthodox and Islamic religions, secular moral assistance establishments, law and order.

The most important or most frequent optional responsibilities are education (the provinces organise educational institutions (secondary or higher)), culture, social welfare, heritage sites and assets, etc.

Political institutions

Each province has an assembly of elected members, the Provincial Council, and an executive, the Provincial College (formerly known as the Permanent Delegation). A Governor designated by the Walloon Government is at the head of the province.

The Provincial Council is made of 47 to 84 directly elected members. The provincial elections take place every six years, at the same time as the communal elections.

The Provincial College is made up of 6 provincial members (formerly known as the permanent members) elected by the Provincial Council from within, and including the Governor, without voting rights. The Provincial College is accountable to the Provincial Council. The Provincial Council and the Provincial College can issue regulations and police orders in provincial matters.

The Governor is the Walloon Government Commissioner in the province, is appointed for an unlimited duration and is given special competencies. The Governor is part of the Provincial College (without voting rights), and also exercises own competencies associated with his/her role as Walloon Government Commissioner, or entrusted to him/her by the Federal Authority or the French Community. These competencies include law and order and administrative supervision over the communes. The Governor ensures that the laws are applied.

The provinces are now governed by the decree of the Walloon Region voted 11 February 2004, which replaces the former provincial law. Since 1st January 2002, provincial law had become a Regional competence in nearly all its aspects.

The provinces are submitted to the legislative and administrative control (tutelle) of the Walloon Region.

The Provincial Council, the Provincial College and the Governor are based in the provincial capital.

Administration

The provinces exercise their responsibility thanks to the provincial administration. Each province organises its administration differently.

Websites of the provinces :
Brabant wallon
Hainaut
Liège
Luxembourg
Namur

>
Les provinces

La Wallonie comprend 5 provinces : Brabant wallon, Hainaut, Liège, Luxembourg et Namur.

Les provinces existent depuis la création de l’État belge. Deux nouvelles provinces, Brabant wallon et Brabant flamand, ont été créées suite à la scission de la province de Brabant au 1er janvier 1995.

compétences organes politiques - administration

compétences

Les provinces exercent une double fonction. D’une part, elles sont des pouvoirs locaux subordonnés :  les provinces sont chargées de l’exécution de certaines décisions prises par d’autres pouvoirs. D’autre part, elles sont des collectivités politiques autonomes, dotées de leur propre pouvoir de décision : les provinces sont compétentes pour toutes les matières qui relèvent de l’intérêt provincial, c’est-à-dire que les provinces sont libres de prendre des initiatives dans la mesure où la matière n’est pas exclue de leur compétence par la Constitution, la loi ou le décret. Les provinces exercent donc une série de missions obligatoires, qui sont identiques pour chaque province wallonne, et des missions facultatives, qui sont propres à chaque province. Les provinces sont soumises à la tutelle de la Région.

Parmi les missions obligatoires des provinces, on retrouve : la tutelle sur les communes pour certaines matières (essentiellement budget et comptes, statut des agents), les candidatures à certaines magistratures, la couverture du déficit des fabriques cathédrales, des établissements chargés du temporel des cultes orthodoxe et islamique, des établissements d’assistance morale laïque, le maintien de l’ordre...

Parmi les missions facultatives les plus importantes ou les plus fréquentes on retrouve l'enseignement, la culture, l'aide sociale, le patrimoine...

organes politiques

Chaque province comprend une assemblée d’élus, le Conseil provincial, et un exécutif, le Collège provincial (anciennement dénommé Députation permanente). A la tête de la province se trouve en outre un Gouverneur désigné par le Gouvernement wallon.

Le Conseil provincial se compose de 47 à 84 membres élus directement. Les élections provinciales se déroulent tous les six ans, en même temps que les élections communales. 

Le Collège provincial se compose de 6 députés provinciaux (anciennement dénommés députés permanents) élus par le Conseil provincial en son sein, auxquels se joint le Gouverneur, sans voix délibérative. Le Collège provincial est responsable devant le Conseil provincial. Le Conseil provincial et le Collège provincial peuvent faire des règlements et des ordonnances de police dans les matières d’intérêt provincial.

Le Gouverneur est le Commissaire du Gouvernement wallon dans la province. Il est nommé pour une durée indéterminée et doté de compétences particulières. Le Gouverneur fait partie du Collège provincial (sans voix délibérative), et exerce également des compétences propres, liées à son rôle de Commissaire du Gouvernement wallon, ou confiées par l’Autorité fédérale ou la Communauté française. Parmi ces compétences, on notera le maintien de l’ordre et la tutelle administrative sur les communes. Le Gouverneur veille à l’application des lois.

Les provinces sont désormais régies par le décret de la Région wallonne voté le 11 février 2004, qui remplace l’ancienne loi provinciale.

administration

Les provinces exercent leur mission grâce à l’administration provinciale. Chaque province organise son administration différemment.

sites :

province du Brabant wallon
province du Hainaut
province de Liège
province de Luxembourg
province de Namur