> The French Community

The French Community is one of the three Communities which compose the federal Belgian state, the two others being the Flemish Community and the German-speaking Community.

territory - competencies - political institutions - administration

territory

In Wallonia, the French Community exercises its powers solely in the French linguistic region.

 competencies

The Community matters are education, cultural matters, social affairs and language use (except for some matters reserved top the Federal Authority).

However, on 1 January 1994 the French Community transferred the exercising of a part of its competencies to the Walloon Region, who now exercises them. Those competencies are some cultural matters (sports infrastructures, tourism, social promotion and occupational training and redeployment), school transport and nearly all personal matters (health policy except for university hospitals, family policy except for the Child Welfare Authority (ONE), social welfare, integration of immigrants, disabled persons and senior citizens).

Political institutions

The political institutions of the French Community are the Parliament of the French Community and the Government of the French Community.

The Parliament of the French Community is composed of 94 members: the 75 Walloon members and 19 members elected by the French linguistic group of the Brussels Parliament. It adopts legislative acts : the decrees.

The Parliament of the French Community essentially exercises two functions :
-   as an instrument of legislative power, it discusses and passes decrees, and can take the initiative to draw them up. Once passed, the decrees are sanctioned and promulgated by the Government of the French Community;
-   as a control body of the executive power, it controls the Government of the French Community, which it is accountable to it. This control is exercised, in particular, via the vote on budgets and accounts, the vote on motions of confidence or no confidence, parliamentary questions, etc.

The Government of the French Community is composed of members elected by the Parliament of the French Community, not necessarily from within. Moreover, the members of this government can be members of the Walloon Government or of the Government of the Brussels-Capital Region.

The Government of the French Community participates in legislative power and like Parliament, it can take the initiative to draw up decrees. As an executive power, it issues the orders necessary for the application of the decrees.

The Government of the French Community is accountable to the Parliament of the French Community. Both are based in Brussels, the political capital of the French Community.

 

  

 Administration

The Ministry of the French Community is responsible for administration and it is comprised of a general secretariat and 5 general administration departments.

> La Communauté française

La Communauté française est l’une des trois Communautés qui composent l’État fédéral belge, les deux autres étant la Communauté flamande et la Communauté germanophone. 

territoire - compétencesorganes politiques - administration  

territoire

En Wallonie, la Communauté française exerce ses compétences uniquement dans la région de langue française.  

compétences

Les matières communautaires sont l’enseignement, les matières culturelles, les matières personnalisables et l’emploi des langues (sauf exceptions réservées à l'Autorité fédérale).

Cependant, au 1er janvier 1994, la Communauté française a transféré l’exercice d’une partie de ses compétences à la Région wallonne, qui les exerce désormais. Ces compétences sont certaines matières culturelles (infrastructures sportives, tourisme, promotion sociale, reconversion et recyclage professionnel), le transport scolaire et la quasi-totalité des matières personnalisables (politique de dispensation des soins, politique familiale hors ONE, aide sociale, intégration des immigrés, politique des handicapés et du troisième âge). (cf décret de la Communauté française du 19 juillet 1993) .

organes politiques

Les organes politiques de la Communauté française sont le Parlement de la Communauté française et le Gouvernement de la Communauté française.

Le Parlement de la Communauté française se compose de 94 membres : les 75 députés wallons, et 19 membres élus en son sein par le groupe linguistique français du Parlement bruxellois. Il adopte les décrets.

Le Parlement de la Communauté française exerce essentiellement deux fonctions :
-  en tant qu’organe du pouvoir législatif, il discute et vote les décrets, et peut prendre l’initiative d’en élaborer. Une fois votés, les décrets sont sanctionnés et promulgués par le Gouvernement de la Communauté française ;
-   en tant qu’organe de contrôle du pouvoir exécutif, il contrôle le Gouvernement de la Communauté française, qui est responsable devant lui. Ce contrôle s’exerce notamment via le vote des budgets et des comptes, le vote de motions de confiance ou de méfiance, les questions parlementaires, etc.

Le Gouvernement de la Communauté française est composé de membres élus par le Parlement de la Communauté française, pas nécessairement en son sein. Les membres de ce gouvernement peuvent être par ailleurs membres du Gouvernement wallon ou du Gouvernement de la Région de Bruxelles-Capitale. 

Le Gouvernement de la Communauté française participe au pouvoir législatif : comme le Parlement, il peut prendre l’initiative d’élaborer des décrets. En tant que pouvoir exécutif, il fait les arrêtés nécessaires à l’application des décrets.

Le Gouvernement de la Communauté française est responsable devant le Parlement de la Communauté française. Tous deux sont installés à Bruxelles, capitale politique de la Communauté française.  

administration

L’administration de la Communauté française est assurée par le Ministère de la Communauté française, qui est organisé en un secrétariat général et 5 administrations générales :

- Enseignement et recherche scientifique ;

- Personnels de l’enseignement ;

- Culture et informatique ;

- Infrastructures ;

- Aide à la jeunesse, santé et sport.  

site du Ministère