> The Federal Authority


territory - competencies - political institutions - administration

territory

The Federal Authority, also called Federal State or Central State, exercises its powers over the country’s entire territory, therefore also in Wallonia.

competencies

In the current legislative situation, the Federal Authority exercises two types of competencies:
-  competencies that have not been attributed to the Regions or Communities;
-    competencies that have been specially attributed to it by the special law in the form of exceptions within community and regional matters.

The first type of competencies mainly includes : justice, social security,defence and law and order, foreign policy, communications, the rules governing civil status and nationality, access to the territory, residence and settling in foreigners, recognition of religions and secular organisations.

The second type of competencies includes among others : the use of languages in the bilingual region of Brussels-Capital and in the communes with a particular language status (among these, the communes in the German linguistic region), the integration income and the guaranteed income for elderly people (Grapa), the organic legislation for hospitals and other essential rules concerning health standards and infrastructures, the national and international research networks and the federal scientific establishments, the federal cultural establishments, safety in the food chain, nuclear energy, federal autonomous public enterprises (SNCB, BIAC, Belgacom, etc.).

Political institutions

The Federal Authority is composed of the Federal Parliament, the Federal Government and the King.

The Parliament includes the House of Representatives and the Senate. The House is made up of 150 directly elected members split into two linguistic groups: French and Dutch. The Senate is made up of 71 senators split into two linguistic groups, French and Dutch, with the exception of the senator designated by the German-speaking Community, who does not belong to any language group. The 71 senators are designated as follows: 40 directly elected senators, 21 senators designated by the Communities and 10 co-opted.

The Parliament exercises two main functions:
-   as the instrument of legislative power, the Parliament discusses and passes the laws and special laws which are then sanctioned and promulgated by the King; it can also take the initiative to draw them up;
-   as the control body of the executive authority, the Parliament supervises the Government. This supervision is exercised via the vote on budgets and accounts, the vote on motions of confidence or no confidence, parliamentary questions, etc.

Furthermore, as a constituent organ, the Parliament is also responsible for revising the Constitution.

The Federal Government is made up of an equal number of French-speaking and Dutch-speaking ministers, with the Prime Minister possibly not included in the equation, and the secretaries of State. The ministers and secretaries of State are nominated and removed from office by the King.

The Federal Government participates in legislative power and, like the Parliament, it can take the initiative of drawing up laws. As an executive power, it adopts the orders necessary to implement the laws.

The Federal Government is accountable to the House of Representatives.

The Parliament and the Government are based in Brussels, the country’s capital.

Administration

The federal public departments (SPF) are responsible for the administration of the Federal Authority. There are currently 17 departments.

Federal Authority's website: http://www.belgium.be

> L'Autorité fédérale

territoire compétences organes politiques - administration

territoire

L’Autorité fédérale, qu’on appelle aussi État fédéral ou État central, exerce ses compétences sur l’ensemble du territoire du pays, donc également en Wallonie.

compétences

Dans l’état législatif actuel, l’Autorité fédérale exerce deux types de compétences :
-   les compétences qui n’ont pas été attribuées aux Régions ou aux Communautés ;
-    les compétences qui lui sont expressément attribuées par la loi spéciale sous forme d’exceptions au sein des matières communautaires et régionales.

Le premier type de compétences comprend principalement :  la justice,   la sécurité socialela défense et le maintien de l’ordre, la politique étrangère, les communications, les règles qui régissent l’état civil et la nationalité, l’accès au territoire, le séjour et l’établissement des étrangers, la reconnaissance des cultes et des organisations laïques.

Le second type de compétences comprend notamment : l’emploi des langues dans la région bilingue de Bruxelles-Capitale et dans les communes à statut linguistique particulier (parmi elles, les communes de la région de langue allemande), le revenu d’intégration sociale et la garantie de revenus aux personnes âgées (Grapa), la législation organique des hôpitaux et d’autres règles essentielles concernant les normes et les infrastructures de santé, les réseaux nationaux et internationaux de recherche et les établissements scientifiques fédéraux,les établissements culturels fédéraux, la sécurité de la chaîne alimentaire, l’énergie nucléaire, les entreprises publiques autonomes fédérales (SNCB, Biac, Belgacom…)

organes politiques

L’Autorité fédérale se compose du Parlement fédéral, du Gouvernement fédéral et du Roi.

Le Parlement comprend la Chambre des Représentants et le Sénat. La Chambre se compose de 150 députés élus directement et répartis en deux groupes linguistiques, français et néerlandais. Le Sénat se compose de 71 sénateurs répartis en deux groupes linguistiques, français et néerlandais, à l’exception du sénateur désigné par la Communauté germanophone, qui n’appartient à aucun groupe linguistique. Les 71 sénateurs sont désignés comme suit : 40 sénateurs élus directement, 21 sénateurs désignés par les Communautés et 10 sénateurs cooptés.

Le Parlement exerce deux fonctions essentielles :
-   en tant qu’organe du pouvoir législatif, le Parlement discute et vote les lois et les lois spéciales qui sont ensuite sanctionnées et promulguées par le Roi ; il peut également prendre l’initiative d’en élaborer ;
-    en tant qu’organe de contrôle du pouvoir exécutif, le Parlement contrôle le Gouvernement. Ce contrôle s’exerce via le vote des budgets et des comptes, le vote de motions de confiance ou de méfiance, les questions parlementaires, etc.

D’autre part, en tant qu’organe constituant, le Parlement est également chargé de la révision de la Constitution.

Le Gouvernement fédéral est composé d’un nombre égal de ministres francophones et néerlandophones, le Premier ministre éventuellement excepté dans le calcul, et de secrétaires d’État. Les ministres et les secrétaires d’État sont nommés et révoqués par le Roi.

Le Gouvernement fédéral participe au pouvoir législatif : comme le Parlement, il peut prendre l’initiative d’élaborer des lois. En tant que pouvoir exécutif, il adopte les arrêtés nécessaires à la mise en œuvre des lois.

Le Gouvernement fédéral est responsable devant la Chambre des représentants.

Le Parlement et le Gouvernement sont installés à Bruxelles, capitale du Royaume.

administration

L’administration de l’Autorité fédérale est assurée par les services publics fédéraux (SPF). Actuellement, ceux-ci sont au nombre de 17, dont 3 services fédéraux de programmation.

portail fédéral